List of courses


BIGS-DR coordination team

Dr. Günther Manske
Ms. Maike Retat-Amin

Email: bigs-dr[at]


Genscherallee 3
53113 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0)228 73 1792

Fax +49 (0)228 73 1839

Disciplinary courses

BIGS-DR offers three disciplinary courses organized by its three research departments. Attendance is mandatory for the students of the respective department. The courses have a time frame of three months.

1) A Social Science Perspective on Development: Development Theory, Practice and Research Methods (ZEFa)
2) Course on Economic Analysis of Development and Development Policy (ZEFb)
3) Course on Ecology and Development (ZEFc)


Time frame: December 3rd, 2018 - February 15th, 2019
Coordination: Andreas Gohlke
Downloads:   ZEFa course plan  

The ZEFa disciplinary course offers total eight weeks of distinct training modules:

1) Development Theory and Practice
2) Quantitative Methods
3) Qualitative Methods
4) Development of Research Proposals
5) Research Colloquia*
6) Excursions to Development Organisations
7) Time for Readings and Assignments

*ZEFa Colloquium (Wednesdays 11:00-12:00) and ZEF Research Colloquium (Thursdays 13:00-14:00)

The ZEFa course ends with a written examination on February 15th, 2019.

ZEF junior researchers will present their doctoral research proposal in March and a revised version of it in April. They will also present and defend their research approach to the ZEF Ethical Committee.


  • Prof. Dr. Solvay Gerke
  • Rabia Chaudhury
  • Dr. Irit Eguavoen
  • Dr. Jan Janosch Förster
  • Dr. Girma Kelboro
  • Dr. Wolfram Laube
  • Dr. Guido Lüchters
  • Volker Merx
  • Christian Petersheim
  • Dr. Henning Sommer
  • Dr. Till Stellmacher
  • Dr. habil. Eva Youkhana


Time frame: November 28th, 2017 - February 23rd, 2018
Coordinator: Dr. Chiara Kofol
Downloads: ZEFb course plan (tentative)

Part I: Quantitative Methods for Research in Development Economics

Part II: Development Economics

The course contains two written exams and assignments.


  • Prof. Dr. Jan Börner
  • Dr. Lukas Kornher
  • Dr. Chiara Kofol
  • Dr. Guido Lüchters
  • Dr. Alisher Mirzabaev
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim von Braun

External lecturers:

  • Dr. Arjun Bedi (Economics of Sustainable Development, Institute for Social Studies (ISS), Erasmus University, Rotterdam)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Kosfeld (University of Frankfurt)
  • Jun. Prof. Dr. Devesh Rustagi (Department of Management and Microeconomics, University of Frankfurt)
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Vollmer (University of Göttingen)


Time frame:December 4th, 2018 - March 29th, 2019
Coordinator:: Dr. Navneet Kumar
Downloads: ZEFc course plan

The ZEFc disciplinary course offers different lectures on the topic related to natural sciences.
The training modules are designed to cover the thematic fields such as:


  1. Hydrology: Integrated water resource management, Irrigation, Hydrological Modelling
  2. Ecology and Biodiversity: System perspective, tools and techniques
  3. Agriculture (Future of agriculture, food security, plant nutrition and soil management)
  4. Public Health (One health concept, vector borne diseases)
  5. Climate (theoretical and practical concepts)


 2 special modules are designed for training in:


  1. Remote sensing and GIS
  2. R course (Statistics)

 3 Excursions are planned

  1. Drinking water treatment Plant
  2. Crop science Bayer and Bee care Center
  3. Museum König



  • Dr. Lisa Biber-Freudenberger
  • Dr. Luna Bharati
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Borgemeister
  • Dr. Timo Falkenberg
  • Dr. John Lamers
  • Dr. Wolfram Laube
  • Dr. Guido Lüchters
  • Dr. Eike Luedeling
  • Antonio Rogmann
  • Dr. Jan Henning Sommer
  • Dr. Bernhard Tischbein
  • Dr. Cory Whitney
  • Christian Petersheim
  • Dr. Navneet Kumar

External lecturers:

  • Dr. Mathias Becker (University of Bonn)
  • Dr. Jan Bliefernicht (University of Augsburg)
  • Dr. Jürgen Burkhardt (University of Bonn)
  • Dr. Jan Decher (Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig)
  • Dr. Bernd Diekkrüger (University of Bonn)
  • Dr. Peter Droogers (FutureWater)
  • Dr. Valerie Graw (ZFL)
  • Dr. Manfred Kern (ISPSW)
  • Dr. Paco Melià (Politecnico di Milano)
  • Dr. Kenesuke Okada (University of Tokyo)
  • Dr. Taro Takahashi (University of Tokyo)
  • Dr. Denise Margaret Matias (DIE)